Say everything you can about the following continents: North America, Eurasia, Australia

1 Январь 0001 →

say everything you can about the following continents: North America, Eurasia, Australia

  • I disagree with this sentence:The 6-continent combined-America model is taught in Latin America,Iberia and some other parts of Europe.In the part of Latin America where I live - Costa Rica - part of my explanation that American doesn't mean americano includes the number of continents: seven (according to my American education). My students from Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Chile, and Argentina agree that there are FIVE continents, count 'em: América (from Canada to Tierra del Fuego), Europe, Asia, Africa, andOceanía. What about Antarctica? Their teachers never mentioned it, so it's not a continent, so there. Other students (I think from Columbia and Ecuador) learned there were six (divide Américainto North and South America and voilà).So we can't generalize about Latin America. Shall we take a poll and specify which countries in Latin America teach 5 and which 6? Also, keep in mind the subset of students who go to bilingual schools in Latin America. They will often learn American, English, German, French (etc.) views of continental geography. Dblomgren 04:27, 27 October 2006 (UTC)
    I studied some years in Latin America and what I was tought; there were 6. Antartica is usually excluded because it's desertic. You can see that even in worldwide known issues the continent is excluded, just look at the olympic games logo. each circle supposedly represent each continent... and about the spanish name for this symbol (~) it's virgulilla. chech the name in the spanish wiki... it's there. --F3rn4nd0  01:02, 3 November 2006 (UTC)Hi. In Colombia and Venezuela, but it may defer by country, Latin America is very diverse. Educational guidelines are established by ministries of education (Department of Education). But something interesting is that most of the Latin American major countries have signed the Antarctic Treaty System that recognizes Antartica. read also: [1]--F3rn4nd0  23:57, 5 November 2006 (UTC)Also, this article implies that Latin Americans subdivide a single American continent 2 ways (North-Central and South). Considering Central America (Costa Rica to Tehuantepec) a separate subcontinent is geologically quite justified and is a commonplace view in Guatemala, where I live. I'm putting in weasel words as a minimum first step, obviously if someone wants to do a cleaner solution you're welcome to. --Homunq 19:22, 29 January 2007 (UTC)

See also:
Английский язык
Похожие записи

Комментарии закрыты.